Search

To Page or to Blog

To Blog

When I started this blog, I first intended to use it for recording my daily activities.  I didn’t want to make a new website and add a whole bunch of administrative overhead to my life.  This is why I settled on WordPress.  I really like the format and the ease of posting here.  When writing here, I don’t have to worry about if an iPad, Kindle Fire, or mobile device wants to read my postings.  This makes WordPress a real no-brainer for just ad-hoc writing.

To Page

What my blog has become is a collection of references with no real tie to the date of posting.  Over this weekend, I read more about the other posting alternatives in WordPress, I found that I can use “pages” instead of “posts”.  A “post” is to support the blog-style format where the date is something that is supposed to be tracked.  Pages do not require date references in the URL. I’m going to put together some pages of past e-mails and topics that may be useful.  This will be a little different than what I’ve done in the past.  I think I like the idea of pages for the purposes of many of my postings.  It also makes it easier to integrate others.  This brings up my next point:

Cooperation Among Cooperatives

If you have something that you wish to share, please e-mail me and I’ll post it, give you a log-in, or we can come to some other arrangement.  If you are anything like I was in the past, you probably don’t want others knowing what you are up to.  After writing about some of this stuff and getting so much feedback and input from others, I don’t know if I can go back to working in a vacuum again.  The reason that the IT industry has surpassed most other industries is that IT workers traditionally share information.  This spirit of information sharing goes hand-in-hand with two of the Seven Principles of Cooperatives:

  • Education Training and Information
  • Cooperation Among Cooperatives

So, do you have anything you wish to share?  Criticisms of my posts I’d be interested in.  To be blunt, I’m shocked that no one has publicly disagreed with my use of VMWare’s free licensing models in a production environment.  Especially by those who have spent the money… Who knows? Maybe the criticism is happening behind my back.  Well, there’s an open opportunity to criticize on the same page that promotes!

Mikrotik

On the week of the 5th, I attended Mikrotik training in Salt Lake City.  I am now a fully certified:

  • MTCNA – MikroTik Certified Network Associate
  • MTCRE – MikroTik Certified Routing Engineer
  • MTCWE – MikroTik Certified Wireless Engineer
  • MTCTCE – MikroTik Certified Traffic Control Engineer

What it really amounts to is more alphabet soup to remember when someone asks me about it.  I’m planning on writing up a review of the training sessions from Dennis Burgess at LinkTechs. Hopefully, I’ll have the time to post some pages of what I learned about RouterOS this week.

Leave a Reply

