Search

Keurig K-Cup and K-Saver Review

Jason mentioned on Facebook that he loved his Keurig coffee maker at work.  I mentioned that I also had one and enjoyed it.  The discussion shifted to how much per cup we were paying.  The K-Cups are not cheap.  Keurig sells and adapter that allows you to use your own bulk coffee to run through the machine.  I bought one thinking that it would be better and cheaper.  What I found was that the water was leaking over the filter and it resulted in a weak cup of coffee.

I started to research alternatives.  On E-Bay I found some sellers with all sort of neat lids that attached to used K-Cup filters.  It’s a little steel snap-on lid with a spring that opens and closes where the Keurig needle would normally pierce the top foil of a K-Cup.  For $20, I thought it would be a good experiment for me to do.

Inspecting the package arrived from the E-Bay seller, it was simply a padded envelope with two little zip-loc bags filled with these steel lids with paper separating them.  Included in the kit were some instructions on how to use the lids.

The directions were simple: peel off the foil from the old K-Cup, discard the old coffee from the K-Cup, insert new coffee, and snap on the steel lid.  The directions had a note: the lid may fit tight for the first couple of uses.

Ok, sounds simple enough.  After peeling the foil from the old K-Cup, the old coffee didn’t come out as easy as described in the E-Bay video.  I resorted to rinsing the cup out in the office sink.

Next, I filled the cup with coffee.  This was easy:

Snapping the lid on took a little bit of extra effort.  It did go on, though.  The directions also mentioned not to squeeze from the bottom of the cup because it might be crushed.

Then I put it inside of my Keurig machine.  Notice that there are two needles: one that pierces the top of the K-Cup and one that pierces the bottom.  The directions say that it doesn’t matter if there are multiple holes pushed in the bottom but I lined the hole up anyway.

Ready to brew: or so I thought…

When attempting to close the Keurig, I felt a lot of resistance from the top needle.  I heard the “snap” from my machine that usually signifies that it is latched; however, when I lifted my hand, it didn’t stay closed.  I examined it closely and thought that I might have put too much coffee in the cup.  My thought was that the coffee was packed too tightly against the steel spring.  I removed some of the coffee from the cup and tried again.  No success.  It appeared to me that the lip that snaps on top of the cup was too thick or that the spring was providing too much resistance to keep the top of the machine closed.  What it ended up being was the K-Cup holder was protruding too much.  The top of the steel lid protruded 1/16” more than the foil would have.

This sucks!

To test this, I removed the standard bottom piercing K-Cup holder and used the Keurig grey colored one instead.  Yeah – the one that made weak coffee.  I removed the top, the screen coffee holder and simply inserted the used K-Cup into the bottom part of the holder and put the E-Bay lid on top of the whole assembly.

I pushed down, heard the snap, lifted my hand off the machine and it stayed.  Now to brew…

I’m not extremely impressed with this system because of the cleanup required but the coffee was surprisingly good and there were no grounds in it…

Leave a Reply

